Committee for Monastic Communities


The Committee for Monastic Communities is tasked with archiving and cataloging, as well studying and comparing the different monastic constitutions in use within the various jurisdictions and monastic communities in the Region.


Bp. George (ROCOR) - Chairman
Met. Tikhon (OCA)
Met. Gerasimos (GOA)
Abp. Kyrill (ROCOR)
Bp. Longin (Serbian)

Committee Liaison

Hierodeacon Benedict (Armitage)


1. Fr. Joseph Morris
2. Mother Gabriella
3. Mother Nektaria
4. Schemamonk Paul (Agioupavlites)

Terms of Reference

What is to be accomplished

  • Compile a database to include all the monastic communities of all the different jurisdictions in the region; database to include historical references (e.g. founder, date, etc.), size of brotherhood, details on property and facilities, etc.
  • Identify proper ecclesiastical authority for each monastery (i.e. ruling bishop)
  • Collect and catalogue the monastic constitutions and related documents used within the various jurisdictions
  • Create a matrix that places each monastery within the three traditional forms of monasticism: eremitic, coenobitic or idiorhythmic
  • Identify outliers, if any, that do not conform to any established monastic tradition

How it is to be accomplished

  • Access the already established monastic survey of Alexei Krindatch
  • Contact local bishops, monasteries, etc. for information on monastic institutions and their regulations/ constitutions/ governance process

With whom it is to be accomplished

  • Local Bishops
  • Chancellors and/or Synodal Secretaries
  • Abbots and Abbesses of Monastic institutions
  • Alexei Krindatch

News and Events

Committee for Monastic Communities 2013 Report

Friday, December 20, 2013
The 2013 annual report of the Committee for Monastic Communities is now available online. read more »

Monastic Communities Committee 2012 Annual Report

Monday, February 04, 2013
The 2012 annual report of the Committee for Monastic Communities is now available online. read more »